The News

South African professors visit CITS

May 2014 | Outreach

On 19-20 May, 2014, CITS hosted a nuclear security study workshop for two professors from South Africa (one from the School of Physics at the University of Johannesburg, one from the Center for Applied Radiation Science and Technology at North West University). The workshop offered an in-depth look at nuclear security from a policy perspective and provided guidance on finalizing their curricula on graduate nuclear security courses. The CITS team comprised Sara Kutchesfahani, Chris Tucker, Arthur Eyzaguirre, Julie Thompson, and MIP student Shea Cotton.

More About:

Sara Z. Kutchesfahani

Center for International Trade and Security

Senior Research Associate; MIP Program Director - IA

Sara Z. Kutchesfahani came to CITS from the Nuclear Engineering and Nonproliferation Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory. She has worked on nuclear non-proliferation policy issues for most of the past decade holding research positions at the International Institute for Strategic Studies (London), the European Union Institute for Security Studies (Paris), and the RAND Corporation (Washington).

Christopher Tucker

Center for International Trade and Security

Director of CITS Student ProgramsResearch Associate

Christopher Tucker has researched a number of strategic trade control systems around the world and organized a variety of training programs covering strategic trade topics and CBRN security. He also directs and acts as the primary instructor for the Richard B. Russell Security Leadership scholarship, the flagship undergraduate program of the Center for International Trade & Security.

Julia Thompson

Center for International Trade and Security

Senior Research Associate

Julia Thompson is a Senior Research Associate at the Center for International Trade and Security (CITS). Prior to joining CITS in 2014, she spent 15 years at Los Alamos National Laboratory where she worked on nonproliferation projects. She earned her Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry at Northwestern University.